Pretty, Pink and Proud: A Response to Pathetic in Pink

For the first year of my daughter’s life she was surrounded by Thomas the Train and dinky cars. Her room was painted a fresh teal green and her nickname was Soph-a-loaf.  The only thing that Sophie cared about was the boob, watching her dad make funny faces and when she was going to have to endure her next bath.

I cannot recall shoving princesses and self-riotousness down her throat but according to a newspaper column I’ve recently stumbled upon I realize I must have. Surely her love of My Little Pony, magical lands, and makeup must be an instilled trait. Because as it seems, my 4 year old does not have the competence or wherewithal to possess her own agenda.

Aside from the shit storm of unbelievably rude and uninformed ideas this writer was putting forth in her article I was especially taken aback by the fact that she portrayed it to be the parent’s fault that little girls idolized princesses.  Right off the hop I take two offenses to this statement. First being that there is no fault to be had. And secondly as I have already mentioned, 4 year old human beings are more than capable of having their own likes and dislikes. My daughter has watched many an episode of Dora the Explorer and still does not especially enjoy the program. It is simply not to her taste. Whereas I try to keep Caillou as far away from her as possible, simply because I can’t stand his annoying voice, and yet she loves the guy!

The author of the viral article, Robin McGrath, admits to disliking young girls with blond hair; and how her repugnance intensifies when a tiara or gown is thrown in the mix.  As you can imagine the internet went mad when this article hit newsstands. Twitter exploded and Facebook, of course, devoured the gong show like it was front page news. But in all seriousness why wouldn’t we? McGrath went as far to say, “I react to them [little girls in princess dresses] the same way I do when I turn over a log or stone to find creepy albino bugs wriggling around underneath.”

I suppose in some way however I take enjoyment in the fact that my blond haired, blue eyed, princess can frighten this kind of an immoral, atrocious and appalling human being to such great lengths.

I loved princesses when I was young. Hell, I still love them- loud and proud baby! They have voices like angels and their hair flows like freshly fallen lilac petals. My mother never once recoiled in horror when I would exit my room decked out in pink from head to toe and ready to walk to the school bus. She allowed her daughter to make her own decisions. I enjoyed pink, just like my best friend enjoyed blue- and I cannot believe that that made her any better than me.

In truth I have relented from my frequent pink wearing since, well, turning about 13 or so and realizing I enjoyed all of the colors of the rainbow. And no, unfortunately for Robin McGraths theory, I did not turn out to be a sparkly clad supercilious attention whore from wearing pink and enjoying the company of princesses in my early years. In actuality those days proved to be no more than a miasma of tea parties and tree climbing. Some days I would lovingly slap on some play makeup and pretend I was Cinderella while others I would climb the rafters of our barn and chase puppy dogs around the farm.

And not to brag but I turned out okay. Just as my daughter will. These are the facts I know for sure- these are a few of the things that do not keep me up at night.

What I do worry about is Robin McGrath. I feel sorry for any person who could have such an unadorned hatred towards children. Girls, boys, brown or white- they are children plain and simple. It is unnatural and upsetting to say the least. Maybe this tirade of hypocrisy was simply conjured up in the depths of her mind in spite of misfortunes that have come across her own family- and if that is the case, she truly has my deepest sympathies. However fighting hatred with hatred gets us nowhere; especially when we involve the children. She speaks frequently about her daughter in the article and it begs the question: What kind of morals are you instilling into your child with this kind of a malicious approach?

So in ending, yes my 4 year old daughter is a princess, but she is also so much more.

For the link to the ‘Pathetic in Pink’ article Click Here.

One thought on “Pretty, Pink and Proud: A Response to Pathetic in Pink

  1. I hate Princesses – but only due to my little girl’s incredible stamina for repetitive Princess related viewing! 😉 why can’t i convince her Star Wars: Rebels is the way forward! LOL

    Seriously though – you’re not alone. I totally get where you’re coming from. Let that silly woman have her say and move on – you & I know the truth: that she is simply wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

