What’s FAT Got To Do With It?

When you are a twelve year old girl some of the most hurtful words that can be thrown your way are fat and ugly. Now imagine you are that 12 year old girl, and it is somebody you are supposed to trust that calls you something along these lines.

When I was at this ripe impressionable age I attended a family dinner at my grandparents’ house. At some point throughout supper my grandpa announces to everyone at the table how fat he feels I am becoming.

I was stunned, speechless, and most of all hurt.

In that moment I wanted to scream words of hate towards him. I wanted to run away and burry myself in the towering spruce trees in the back yard never to have judging eyes look upon me again. And I wanted to cry. The latter felt the most plausible and just before the stunned moment of disbelief ended and the waterworks began my auntie came to my rescue. She patted her father on his very robust belly and replied to his jest in a similarly insensitive tone, “Oh Dad, I wouldn’t be talking if I were you!”

The occupants of the table began to laugh, to which I joined in on tentatively, and soon all was forgotten. Well forgotten by my family that is. As for the twelve year old girl sitting at that kitchen table, it would take a very long time to learn how to grow a healthy self-confidence.

Now in present days, I try not to think in terms of fat and skinny. I want to see healthy people. I want to see people eating well balanced meals, being active, and having an overall happy outlook on life. So obviously this is how I would like to raise my children. I am not so naïve to think their self-assurance will not waver in times of adolescents and of course the high school years. But I do want to ardently try to assure it is not from their family, the people who love them most, which they begin to question their confidence.

Recently Sophie has been losing some of her baby fat. I have noticed from several family members that they will say to her, “Oh Sophie! You are looking so skinny.” As if this is some kind of badge of honor. She is three for god sakes!

I’ve seen mothers at the grocery store telling their daughters that they cannot buy the chips in aisle 3 because that will make them fat. And I ask myself why does the word fat have to be brought into it? Teach those babes that it is best to be healthy, because that will leave us with longer and more promising lives.

There are women I know that are stressing themselves out over how much fat and sugar their toddlers are eating, not because of the unnatural by-products of the item, but because of the high amount of calories it contains. And then to completely top it off, I will nonchalantly ask these women what in fact the definition of a calorie is…And they cannot seem to conjure up an answer.

By continuously preaching to our children or in front of our children on all the dreadfulness that is FAT and UGLY we are preconditioning them to a lifetime of faltering self-esteem and unhealthy life choices.

I tell my son he is handsome because he most definitely is, but I certainly do not leave it at that. He is bright, funny and one hell of a great dancer! My daughter is not only beautiful but she is hilarious and is a great story teller, which will be infinitely useful in later years… (Take it from me!)

I look at my precious children of 5 and 3 and do not want to do anything to them in these young years to cause a future filled with hardships due to low self-esteem and backwards values of worth in this world.

So instead of priding Sophie on how skinny she has become I will give her a high five when she eats all her veggies. I will pride Lars on his love of the outdoors and encourage him to spend many hours exploring nature.

I will teach my kids that looks DO NOT come before personality, despite what many cynical critics of today may say.

I grew up with tainted ideas of beauty and self-worth and I know the struggles I stressed with in living with these insane ideals. I have only just recently found out what it is I truly value in life and that is health and happiness.

And that is what I want my children to live by from their very beginning.

6 thoughts on “What’s FAT Got To Do With It?

  1. Josie is like 53lbs at nearly 5 years old, and just under 4 feet tall. Anthony has an aunt who at every family gathering, she mentions how chubby Josie is, All her granddaughters are stick thin because their mom monitors their food so that they don’t get fat. The 5 year old daughter told their great grandma, who is 83, that she was very fat. It’s just so depressing.

    Like

  2. I agree. Adults say things without thinking that have life-long repercussions on the children who listen. Healthy eating is about being healthy, not about being fat/skinny and conforming to the “norm” the media feeds us. I tell my kids that their body is like a car – it’s designed for a certain type of fuel, and if you put the wrong stuff in it won’t work properly. End of story.

    Like

  3. how awful and sad and unfortunately you never forget those moments. i’m so happy you are mindful about it, for your daughter’s sake, and hopefully she will never have to endure comments like these. it really upsets me when i hear adults say things like that to kids or their parents. it really has to do with them transferring their own insecurities onto someone else –

    Like

Leave a Reply

