The Naked Face Selfie- And why I don’t buy it

Sometimes I will go days without make-up. Weeks even! But there are times when I roll out of bed and think, “I really want to give myself a little pick-me-up” and so I do this by placing make-up on my face to showcase its natural beauty.

And even though some may have a hard time believing this crazy notion- despite the fact that I’m wearing make-up, I still know that I am beautiful.

The Naked Face Selfie- if you haven’t heard of it, it is a new fad on Facebook where friends nominate friends to put up selfies of themselves without makeup on.

Yet I have to say, many of the posts I’ve been seeing are quite confusing.

The premise of The Naked Face Selfie (to my understanding):

Embrace your natural self and post a picture of the real you on this huge social media network, proving that you are a self-satisfied individual and love the skin you’re in. I get it.

What I don’t get, is when I see these naked face selfies and they are captioned with, ‘hope all my Facebook friends don’t lose their lunch over my naked face…Gross I know!’ or ‘No make-up, hair’s a mess, why (insert nominators name here) did you do this to me!?’

To me, this doesn’t sound that liberating at all.

When I was young I hated everything and I mean EVERYTHING about myself. It was as though each time I looked in the mirror this person looking back at me was someone I hardly knew. A person I couldn’t stand to look at. I could find flaws in myself that any passerby would surely miss…But to me these imperfections were outlined in fluorescent orange highlighter.

This drastically low self-esteem continued on for quite some time and I could not find inner or outer satisfaction anywhere in my life…Partly because I was searching for it in all the wrong places.

But then one day there was a shift.

I looked at myself in the mirror, really looked. I thought about the number of time the words- ugly, fat, not good enough had crossed my mind in just that one single day and I realized it was more times than I had EVER been called these terms in my entire life.

And all too soon it occurred to me that I was failing, just not in the way I had previously thought. I was failing myself. I had entrapped my own mind in this vicious circle of self-loathing and if I didn’t make a change now- I wondered if I would ever be able to free myself?

So there it began; the compliments I would silently pay to my body in the reflection of the mirror. Each day looking at something I had hated before, I now could find acceptance in, soon growing to embrace it fully.

In present day, I like any other human being, obviously have my bad days. The days when I feel gross and can’t help but pick out the flaws that are bothering me to no end. But now, instead of dwelling on these things, like all bad days it passes and again I am given the freedom to simply be me.

I have learnt that while thrusting labels upon yourself can sometimes feel like a defense against others it is truly only harming to oneself.

I have learnt that whether it is wearing a whole heap of makeup on a certain day just to get that boost you need or going for a jog or wearing your new 4 inch heels to drop off at the daycare, we sometimes just need to do these things to get our ‘feel goods’ back.

In my humble opinion, self-acceptance shouldn’t be about naked faces, numbers on scales, or dollar amounts in bank accounts…To me it is about health, happiness and a satisfaction I can find only in my heart. And that does not require me wiping off the make-up I have upon my face.

For those of you that are happy with your naked faces I commend you. There was a time when I would angrily envy your courage and high self-esteem. But luckily for me, today is not that day. Today I can look at my face and say that it is beautiful- wrinkles of life, blemishes of beauty and, mascara included.

 

"I feel pretty,  Oh, so pretty,  I feel pretty and witty and bright!"
“I feel pretty,
Oh, so pretty,
I feel pretty and witty and bright!”
"And I pity  Any girl who isn't me tonight."
“And I pity
Any girl who isn’t me tonight.”
"I feel charming,  Oh, so charming  It's alarming how charming I feel!  And so pretty  That I hardly can believe I'm real."
“I feel charming,
Oh, so charming
It’s alarming how charming I feel!
And so pretty
That I hardly can believe I’m real.”
"See the pretty girl in that mirror there:  Who can that attractive girl be?"
“See the pretty girl in that mirror there:
Who can that attractive girl be?”
"Such a pretty face,  Such a pretty dress,  Such a pretty smile,"
“Such a pretty face,
Such a pretty dress,
Such a pretty smile,”

"Such a pretty me!"
“Such a pretty me!”

 

"I feel pretty,  Oh, so pretty  That the city should give me its key.  A committee  Should be organized to honor me."
“I feel pretty,
Oh, so pretty
That the city should give me its key.
A committee
Should be organized to honor me.”

 

Okay okay maybe that’s going a little too far…But I do feel pretty, no matter what the state of my face is!

PS. I’m pretty sure I don’t have to credit ‘I Feel Pretty‘ from West Side Story since I should HOPE everyone who reads my blog has at least watched this production once, but there it is, just to be on the safe side.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Naked Face Selfie- And why I don’t buy it

  1. You do have a great sense of humor and we all love that about you, but you are attractive. I think cosmetics helps gals enhance their natural beauty. The selfie is not a bad idea at all. My wife looks great to me when she first gets up with any makeup applied. My wife is a beauty, but I think cosmetics helps.

    Like

    • I think the real beauty of a woman comes from the inner knowledge that they are in fact beautiful. In my post when I spoke about a time when my self confidence was low and I was self loathing a lot, I’m sure I did not come off as attractive back then because I firmly believe that those negative feelings shine through in a person’s appearance. So I do think the idea of the naked face selfie is good…but only if you really believe in it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

