Dear Dad,

Well Old Man, another birthday is upon us.

You, another year older and me getting more and more sentimental by the second. Today I took a trip down memory lane by pulling out the ol’ photo albums.

Summer 69 Sawyers

There we all were, so many years ago, yet each picture pulling to mind a distinct memory to follow. As I skimmed through the plethora of pictures that continued to jump off of the hard cardboard inserts of the book it made me realize how much our Father/Daughter relationship has went through.

You and I, we’ve seen the good, we’ve seen the bad…And together we have certainly seen the ugly.

It is no secret that we’ve had our disagreements, all out screaming matches to be exact! What with both of us being the bull-headed ornery buggers that we are. But I think that is why we can always come out laughing about it in the end, because as much as in my younger years I would have hated to admit it; we Dad, are just two peas in a pod.

So now I’d like you to join me on this reminiscing trip.

IMG_0019

Okay maybe this was a bad picture to begin with…I look a little ill-at-ease.

But clearly…

IMG_0020 IMG_0018 IMG_0037

I loved being in Daddy’s arms.

And when I wasn’t firmly nestled into the crook of that arm,

IMG_0053

I knew it wouldn’t be long before you showed up.

I am assuming you readied me for the day, this day. Since,

IMG_0042

Mom would have never allowed me out in public like that!

To this day, people spew out that I am the spitting image of you. I’m sure you could imagine my distress when hearing this appeal at a tender 14 years old…No offense Daddy-O, but no girl wants to look like her manly looking father.

But now looking at back, I can kind of see where they were coming from…

IMG_0052 IMG_6390

As I look through these pictures, I start to think of all the things I am thankful to you for. The big things, the little things, and all that is in-between.

Thank you for not losing your cool when you found a boy canoodling me…

IMG_0027

And not totally freaking out when things somehow escalated

IMG_0054

"Ooooh I hope Daddy didn't see that!"
“Ooooh I hope Daddy didn’t see that!”

Thank you for truck rides…They were always the best!

IMG_0056

Thanks for cooking steaks like a BOSS!

IMG_0046

Thank you for always loving me unconditionally even when I was going through this stage…

IMG_0048

Thanks to both you and Mom for simply being  the people that you are.

wedding anniversary shindig 147 IMG_0024

Thank you for putting up with mine and Dustin’s shenanigans.

wedding anniversary shindig 473

Thank you for being supportive when I told you I was having a baby with the dude who sported the Mohawk…

IMG_0050

And for being there with us in our most important times

BROWN-0064 BROWN-0059

Thank you for being ‘Papa Farm’

10-FF6F11C2-511014-960

And just being with them whenever you can.

party55 040

I could go on.

Like, thank you for always ALWAYS having my back, when I needed you the most.

Thank you for putting me in my place when I direly needed it.

Thank you for being a hard ass, it’s ended up making me a pretty awesome individual (not to toot my own horn or anything).

The point is Dad, I love you.

And I hope that you have the happiest of days on your birthday, because you deserve it.

P.S. I am not thankful for this incident…Just scaring, that’s what this is.

IMG_0036

After all we have been through, I’m glad that we ended up where we are today Dad.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

IMG_0022

6 thoughts on “Dear Dad,

    • Thanks 🙂 And yes, it is so nice to be able to look back on your childhood with a simple picture. It reminds me to take as many pictures as I can while my own kids are young, so they have as many awesome photos to look back on as I do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

