“It rubs the lotion on its skin…”

Unfortunately I have been cursed with bad skin. I have been dealing with this woe my entire life. Whether it be acne, sensitive skin or eczema which has now developed into psoriasis. When it comes to my skin it feels as though it is an uphill battle, and there I am itching the whole way to the top.
I had noticed my psoriasis getting worse with the change in weather, but never did I think it would get this bad! I woke up yesterday morning with a swollen knee cap and so much inflammation in the area that I was sure my leg would have to be amputated.
As I freaked out a lot a reasonable amount, and made a doctor’s appointment a little ditty started to inch itself together in my head. After going to the ol’ doc’s and purchasing some cream that I’m sure was the cost of a small village in some places, I sat down and typed out this poem that was accosting my brain.
So here it is, this is for all my peeps with skin abnormalities…

My skin, my skin, it’s making a fuss
My elbows, my knees,
And even my butt.
I wish I could stop this terrible state
But this constant itch I have, just seems to be my fate.

“It rubs the lotion on its skin
Or it gets the rash again”

What can I say, I disregard rubbin’ it on
And every time I forget
My skin reminds me at dawn.
I will wake with that rash being ten times worse
And the hypochondriac in me, will soon be ridin’ a hearse.

“It rubs the lotion on its skin,
Or it gets the rash again”

There I am itching, a really rueful patch
And I thank the heavens above
This scratchy rash hasn’t moved on to my snatch!
Because that would be awkward, to say the least
Going to town on my crotch, like a fucking feast.

“It rubs the lotion on its skin
Or it gets the rash again”

And I wonder if I will ever be rid of this thing
That has taken me over
As vicious as a bee with its sting.
For as long as I know, the scratch has been here with me
The rash is inevitable, like taking a pee.

“It rubs the lotion on its skin
Or it gets the rash again”

Because I have said it, it must be groundlessly so
That the rash chooses us
Like the swordsman to his foe, the beauty to her beau.
So my advice to you, if you wear this rash sash
Use the cream that will help you forget this brash rash.

“It rubs the lotion on the skin
Or it gets the rash again”

4 thoughts on ““It rubs the lotion on its skin…”

  1. okay, did not watch the video, but love the lyrics. And, you’re not a hypochondriac! You’re body just has a lot of issues! Of which you are super aware of. 🙂

    Thanks for making light of it. It made me laugh, and laughter is the best medicine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

