Don’t Quit Your Day Job

When it comes to housekeeping, I really do enjoy it. I lock myself in a room, that needs to be transformed from an unkempt in shit hole to a clean unlived in looking area.

I just plug away at it until the job is done, cleaning on my own terms. It’s a beautiful thing really. Unfortunately there are times when I get a little carried away, and the beauty turns rapidly into mortification.

Like most of us, I really enjoy cleaning alongside some of my favorite tunes. There I am bustin’ a move whilst making the bed. Hitting the high notes with Aretha, I like to Say A Little Prayer of  R.E.S.P.E.C.T for that Natural Woman. You get the drift.

So the other day, I got a flashback to end all flashbacks when good ol’ ‘Spice Up Your Life’ came on. You see, I was a HUGE fan of the Spice Girls in my younger years, and secretly still love them with a burning passion.

So there I am scrubbing some sort of disgusting matter of a toilet bowl and hear the starting lyrics come on…

“La la la la la la la la la
La la la la la la la
La la la la la la la la la
La la la la la la la”

Ahhh Ya! Now I’m excited, oh man this song is going to get, and doesn’t even know it!

So Ima singing and a dancing….

“Slam it to the left
If you’re having a good time
Shake it to the right
If you know that you feel fine
Chicas to the front
Uh Uh go round
Slam it to the left
If you’re having a good time
Shake it to the right
If you know that you feel fine
Chicas to the front
Hi Ci Ya
Hold tight!”

Oh I am having ‘A good time’ so I’m shakin’ and I’m slamin’ and at this moment I feel like I am 14 again. I never want this song to end.

I am currently on top of a freshly made bed, giving er my all, dancing and singing like no one is watching…Because no one is, right?

WRONG!

There is several guests of the hotel now congregating in front of the door of the room I am in, watching the catastrophe that is my Spice Girls reenactment.

Kill me now.

I am a 27 year old woman so entranced with my own awesomeness, that I have not noticed that I am making a complete idiot of myself in front of strangers who may or may not think I am now mentally unstable.

I quietly get down from my make believe Spice Girl stage, and move stealthily into the bathroom to resume scrubbing.

And as quickly as the nonsense began, I think “Don’t quit your day job Lindsay.”

5 thoughts on “Don’t Quit Your Day Job

    • LOL Ya, we always clean with the doors open, because the rooms get so stuffy with less than appealing smells from people living in them so it helps to air them out…With this said though, I certainly should have kept that in mind, before bustin’ out my song and dance! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

