One Teddy, Some Sleep, That Bear.

This morning I woke, with one of my all time favorite songs playing vividly through my head. ‘One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer’ by George Thorogood and the Destroyers.  A classic oldie, which if you are not familiar with, you should click on the link I’ve provided and take a listen as it is SPACTACULAR! Not to mention, this remake I have conjured up, will make no sense to you if you have never listened to the song.

 

 

I wanna tell you a story

About some teddy bear blues,

It’s bedtime at the Brown house

Had to tell my 2 year old, I done lost her bear

She said, that don’t comfort me

I just won’t be sleeping

So sleeping never comes, and I don’t find that bear

So round the house I stare.

 

So I goes to the little girl

I said ‘How’s about your stuffed cat?’

I’ll find that bear by the morning

Or the next day…I don`t know.

Let me look around, give me some time

but I notice, when I kiss her good night

She aint got no lovin’ to give to me

And for 2 years, she was so nice.

Lord she was lovey-dovey

I hear some groaning coming from the bedroom,

The little girl says, `You got my bear for me yet`

I said, `No I can`t find no bear`

She said, ‘I don’t believe you trying to find no bear’

Said, ‘ I seen you sittin’ on the couch, watchin’ TV’

I said, ‘I’m tired, I been searching all night.’

She said, ‘That don’t comfort me

If I don’t get that bear, I won’t be sleeping’

So sleeping never comes, and I don’t find that bear

So round the house I stare.

 

I go to my husband

He usually know what to do,

I said, ‘Look Hun, I’m in a spot, you know?

Can you help me look for that bear.

He said, ‘let me go look for a bit.’

He comes back, in 2 minutes flat

I could see it in his face

I could see it was a no

He said, ‘I don’t know hun, it done look like that bear is gone.’

I said, ‘I know, everybody gone…Look like you gone too.’

So I go back to the room

I tell the little girl I got her bear, so she can go to sleep

She said, ‘Yeah?’ I said ‘Oh yeah’

And then she was so nice

Lord she was Lovey-Dovey.

So I go and start searchin’ again, I gotta find that bear

I look in cupboards, the fridge and a drawer to find that bear

The girls a-howling, She be lucky if she gets a look-a-like

She ain’t gunna get none of it.

So I stop in her brothers room, you know siblings

I go to the bed, I sit down, I call the boy

I said, ‘Look Man, come in here.’ He got in there.

So what you want?

 

One Teddy, some sleep, that bear.

Well I ain’t see her teddy, since I don’t know when

I’ve been looking high and low, in out’s and in’s

Gunna get stressed man, gunna get strained

The feelings starting to get a little bit feigned

listen to me, don’t you have a care?

I need one teddy, some sleep, that bear.

One teddy, some sleep, that bear.

 

So I’m sitting now, on the bed

I’m a wanting to cry my woes, to my kid

I need one Teddy, I need some sleep, I need that bear.

I look down the hall, here comes the boy

I said, ‘Look man, come in here’ He got in there.

So what you want?

 

One Teddy, some sleep, that bear.

No I ain’t seen that Teddy since early this morn’

How could this happen, the things been with her since she was born

How could this happen, I can’t look no more

Gunna get stressed, So help me out if you dare

I need one teddy, some sleep, that bear

One teddy, some sleep, that bear.

 

Now by this time, I pretty stressed.

You know when your eye is twitchin’ you pretty stressed.

Looked down the hall, I say to my boy,

I said, ‘look man, get in here.’ He got in there

So what you want this time.

I said, ‘Look man, what a-time is it?’

He said, ‘Dad says it’s 10 o’clock,

still no bear, so what you need?’

 

One teddy, some sleep, that bear.

No I ain’t seen that teddy, since the rise of the sun

I despair to admit it, but it’s no longer fun

I despair to admit it, but this bear has most won

I’m feeling quite hopeless and sense I may soon be done

I will tell you once more son, to justly be fair

I need one teddy, some sleep, that bear

One teddy, some sleep, that bear.

One thought on “One Teddy, Some Sleep, That Bear.

Leave a Reply

