The Power of Time

And yet another sappy post, from the makers of The Blogging Mama….

It is strange how you can be such a huge part of someone’s life and they apart of yours, and then all of the sudden 6 years has went by without seeing them.

In my early adult years, I went through some very emotional turmoil. I’m not going to get into it now, that’s what my poetry work is for. But essential to say, I needed help. I was working at KFC at the time, and became very close friends with my boss Sheri.

After a time of struggle and strife she and I both decided it would be best for me to move in with her. So I did. I not only moved my belongings into her home, I moved in my heart as well. The time I spent with Sheri and her children are memories that will be long remembered. It was a time of happiness after an unknowing depression.

I spent a lot of time with the kids, as I would watch them while Sheri was working. It started out as a babysitting favor since Sheri had graciously allowed me to move into her place rent free. It grew to be so much more than that.

I began to develop these deep seeded relationships with the kids, something I never imagined would happen.

I had never been one for the whole ‘adoptive family’ thing. Your friends are friends and family, family. But the more time I spent with these wee ones, the more I thought of them as my little brothers and sister.

P.J. at the time was quickly approaching adolescence,  his crazy antics would make me laugh inwardly as Sheri and I would scold him for making bad decisions. But his heart was always in the right place, and for everything mistaken that he did, his wonderful smile would make up for it. He was always the one to give me a laugh when things got glum.

Brandon was so small when I was an entity in his life. I have seen him around town a few times since we lost touch and he has grown into a young man. It is amazing what a few years can bring. But even in the short times that I have spoken to him in present days, I can see that his sensitive style and forthright demeanour has stayed true.

Ashley…Ashley was and always will be my little sister. And despite my misgivings about calling friends siblings, I have none when it comes to this girl. We spent so many hours together, talking about anything from monkeys to mayhem. We would create these crazy stories that I would write down, and to this day I sometimes pull them out to read, just to be reminded of our days of laughter.

There were so many times of sitting with Sheri at her kitchen table drinking coffee and gossiping about everything under the sun. I guess at first it was the trivial we talked about, but those are times I have forgotten. The real things we spoke about, the things that mattered to us both stick heavily in my memory. She would always give me sound advice…I would like to say, and I her….But I was only young at the time and don’t know how much advice I could have gave to this woman who was always so judicious in my eyes.

As all things good, our time together came to a quickening halt. I moved on and as did they. But despite the large land mass that came to separate us, we still stayed in touch. At first it was phone calls, which turned into text messaging and eventually it was only the occasional Facebook message.

When life seems to happen fast, we sometimes forget the people who shaped our young life. And I will admit I am guilty of this. Of course I would creep around on their Facebook pages to keep up on the details in their life, and every now and then wonder how it was, that they were doing. But it was only as of late, that I was given the chance to rekindle these relationships.

Sheri had Facebook messaged me, telling that Ashley would be coming back home for a visit…Wait a minute, I thought, Ashley is only knee high to a grasshopper…How is she possibly making this trip by herself. Nope, she is now an 18 year old woman and very much capable of anything she wants to do.  The thought was sobering to say the least, and I feared that we would no longer have anything in common. But I needed to see her, so we planned for a visit.

It is an absolutely true statement to say that old friends pick up where they left off. My initial shock of seeing little Ash, who at last glance was a 10 year old child, now transformed into a young lady with a striking face and a personality to match was flagrant. I kept stuttering over my words, acting like an idiot, “Uh oh my gosh…you’re so old…” duh! But that was only reactions, once we sat and started our talk everything was back to the way it always had been. And what a wonderful flashback. We laughed, and reminisced about old times and got caught up on the new.

She met my children, which I loved to see, since she was only a few years older than Lars when I first got to know her. How bizarre life can turn out to be.

The power of time is so grand it can do many things to a person. It can show you the world, it can teach you to be the person you’ve always wanted to be. It can bandage past hurt and brighten your eyes to a wonderful future. It can also allow you to forget those pivotal moments in the past that have helped shape you into who you are today.

But if you’re lucky, memory will serve its purpose and these times will become something missed, something beautiful. Allowing it to grow into a new faction of life.  A place where the past can live on, but there is room for new memories to be made.

Leave a Reply

